Olney Chamber of Commerce Banquet

The Olney Chamber of Commerce Banquet has been going strong since 1925. Guests gathered Jan. 31 to celebrate award recipients at the 94th annual chamber banquet.

Each year the chamber director Stacy Wade along with the chamber board members (Gina Anz, Crystal Simmons, Anna Rogers, Shelbi Bernhardt, Marla Pollitt and Lyndsey Miller) discover creative ways to present the “Stars of Olney” awards to recognize the community residents and leaders who have made an impact in the Olney community throughout the year.

The video presentation is one of the creative ways the awards are presented. Wade said the video presentation is a fun way to talk about the recipients’ company history mixed with interesting facts. Dale Lovett creates the background videos that introduce the winners.

Olney residents look forward to the annual banquet as it is a time to mingle with everyone in one place. More than 250 guests arrived in their “Sunday Best” attire and were greeted by the volunteer chamber students and Olney High School junior class.

The Gravel Roads Band provided entertainment during the silent auction and throughout dinner.

Rue Rogers was the master of ceremonies for the event. He opened with the recognition of dignitaries. Jake Bailey ended the awards presentation with the introduction of the leaders of tomorrow.

Dustin Hudson, the owner of the HDH Pavilion, cooked a meal that guests raved about. The meal included pork loin with his homemade sauce, sautéed finger-linked potatoes, garden salad with ranch dressing and a chocolate sheet cake for dessert.

Chamber director Stacy Wade expressed her gratitude for the success of the event. “Thanks to all the sponsors for donating to the banquet. Also, thanks to everyone who donated a silent auction item, which will fund the Chamber David H. Penn Memorial Scholarship fund that is awarded to the volunteer chamber students who have earned a minimum of 40 community service hours.”

Here is a summary of the awards presentation:

Chamber Member of the Year Award: Fort Belknap Electric

A special thank-you award: Bill Ballard

Stars of Olney Award Recipients: Goldsmith’s Supply (NAPA), Norma Knight, Olney Car Wash and the Lion’s Club.

Leaders of Tomorrow: Melanie Allen, Christian Fuska

Sponsors: Air Tractor, Inc., Brazos Communications, CEMCO, Inc., Cub Drug, Don’s Butane Services dba Olney Fuel & Supply, First State Bank of Olney, Fort Belknap Electric Co-Op, Inc., Johhny Moore State Farm, Kindred at Home, Marion Realty, Olney Car Wash, Olney InterBank, Olney Mini Warehouse/Robert & Julie Stewart, Over Yonder RV Park, Plexus by Julie Hinson, Stewart’s Food Store, Inc. Stewart’s Laundry, Stewart’s Ranch, Stewart’s Storage, LLC, Texas New Mexico Power Company, Tower Extrusions, Ltd.

The Olney Enterprise

213 E. Main St.
PO Box 577

Olney, Texas 76374

Phone: (940) 564-5558

Fax: (940) 564-3992