Commissioner Morath announces school districts earning postsecondary readiness distinction


AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced today that 61 school districts and district charters across the state received a distinction designation for postsecondary readiness as part of their 2018 state accountability rating. The postsecondary readiness distinction is the only distinction designation at the district level under the state accountability system. Beginning this year, all multicampus school districts and charters received an accountability rating based on an A–F scale. Those ratings were announced by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) on Aug. 15.

Parents are encouraged to visit to view online report cards designed to be useful tools in seeing how a school or school district is doing in different areas. The report cards spotlight specific strengths, in addition to any challenges, that can assure the needs of all students are being met. Parents can search by district or school name and compare that district’s or school’s performance to others in their area.

The postsecondary readiness distinction takes into account factors such as graduation rates, ACT/SAT participation and performance, Career and Technical Education (CTE) graduates,anddual-creditcourse completion rates. Districts and district charters earning a rating of A, B, C or D were eligible for the postsecondary readiness distinction.

The school districts and chartersearningapostsecondary readiness distinction in 2018 include: Barbers Hill ISD; Bells ISD; Birdville ISD; Bishop CISD; Calallen ISD; Callisburg ISD; Carroll ISD; Central ISD; De Leon ISD; Dublin ISD; East Bernard ISD; Edinburg CISD; Flour Bluff ISD; Floydada ISD; George West ISD; Goldthwaite ISD; Happy ISD; Harlingen CISD; Harmony School of Excellence (Houston); Harmony School of Science (Houston); Harmony Science Academy (El Paso); Harmony Science Academy (Houston); Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD; Irion County ISD; Kerrville ISD; Lasara ISD; Los Fresnos CISD; Lovejoy ISD; Lyford CISD; Mabank ISD; Malakoff ISD; Mason ISD; McAllen ISD; Medina Valley ISD; Midway ISD; Mumford ISD; Oakwood ISD; Olney ISD; Paris ISD; Port Aransas ISD; Poth ISD; Rising Star ISD; Roby CISD; Roma ISD; Roscoe Collegiate ISD; San Perlita ISD; Santa Gertrudis ISD; School of Science and Technology Discovery (San Antonio); Sharyland ISD; Shiner ISD; Socorro ISD; South Texas ISD; Sundown ISD; Tatum ISD; United ISD; Universal Academy (Irving); Valley View ISD; Vanguard Academy (Pharr); Wall ISD; Webb CISD; and Woden ISD. Carroll ISD, Kerrville ISD, Los Fresnos CISD, Sharyland ISD, and South Texas ISD earned the postsecondary distinction for the fifth consecutive year. These school districts have earned the distinction every year it has been part of the state accountability system.

To view the 2018 state accountability ratings for districts, charters and campuses, visit the TEA website at