• Article Image Alt Text

FBCO scholarships awarded in 2019

The First Baptist Church of Olney is proud to announce the recipients of the four scholarships that are awarded each year to graduating seniors.   The scholarships are awarded each year by a committee that is formed from the deacon body.

The Evans Trust Scholarship was established in 1989 by Mrs. Don (Neva) Mc-Clatchy and Mrs. Clester H. (Corky) Evans in honor of their parents, Mr. and Mrs. Clester H. Evans, Sr.  Parker Mayers is the 2019 recipient.  

The Cecil and Myrtis Womack-Lawana Penn Memorial Trust, was established in 1991 by Myrtis Womack for and in memory of her husband, Cecil D. Womack and her daughter, Lawana Penn.  Kiara Owen is the 2019 recipient.  

The Andrew-Foster Memorial Trust, was established in 1985 by Joe and Martha Andrew in memory of their parents, Leland and Lois Andrew and Wilborn and Marie Foster.  Christian Fuksa is the 2019 recipient.  

The Kay Berry Memorial Scholarship, was established in 2015 by Don Berry and his children, Jeff Berry, Andy Berry, Joel Berry and Amy White to honor the memory of his wife and their mother, Kay.   Mrs. Berry was the principal of Olney High School from 1993 until 2004. And then served as the curriculum director and test coordinator until her retirement.  Jae Montgomery is the 2019 recipient.  

The congregation of First Baptist Church and the Scholarship Committee are proud of our graduating seniors and we pray that God will bless them in this new season of life as they step out to serve the Lord in new ways.  God bless you as you represent our church and community.

The Olney Enterprise

213 E. Main St.
PO Box 577

Olney, Texas 76374

Phone: (940) 564-5558

Fax: (940) 564-3992