Candidates file for May 4 races

The filing window closed on Feb. 16 for candidates in the May 4 municipal election.

The local ballot features races to fill four seats on the Olney City Council and three seats on the Olney Independent School District’s Board of Trustees. The Olney Hamilton Hospital Board of Directors will cancel balloting for five seats because all board members are running unopposed, OHH Grace Perez, administrative assistant to hospital administrator Michael Huff said.

The total number of filings for the City Council races was not available at press time on Monday.

At least three new candidates - Mona Bernhardt, Carol Vorel and Jackie Voyles had filed to run for the City Council seats held by Mayor Rue Rogers, Tommy Kimbro, and Thea Sullivan. Mayor Rogers is running for re-election against A.D. Patel. Mr. Kimbro is not seeking re-election.

The City also is holding a special election on the May 4 ballot to fill the unexpired term of Councilmember Brad Simmons, who resigned from Council last week after moving outside the City limits.

The winner in the special Council election will serve the year remaining on Mr. Simmons’ term.

Danny Willingham, an early filer for Olney City Council, withdrew from the race.

The candidates for OISD Board of Trustees are: Place 1, incumbent Jodee Wales, Landon Rowe; Place 2: incumbent Kenley Lane, Ryan Cawthon; Place 3: Hannah Stewart. The winners will serve two-year terms.

The Place 3 seat is now occupied by Tower Extrusion president Mark McClelland. Mr. McClelland stepped in to fill the seat vacated by Jake Bailey last year but he will not run for re-election.

All five candidates for OHH Board of Directors are running unopposed, meaning the board will vote this month to cancel the election, a hospital official said.

The OHH candidates are newcomer Carl Craig, and incumbents Rita Choat, Randy Whitmire, Ron Rogers, and Lyndsey Miller.

Board Vice Chairman Bob Craig recently retired from the board after serving since 1994.

The election is set for Saturday, May 4 with early voting running from Monday, April 22 through Tuesday, April 30.

The last day to register to vote in the municipal election is Thursday, April 4.