• Article Image Alt Text

Keep Olney Beautiful Fundraiser

Olney is one of the greatest places to call home. As many rural communities are beginning to fade away, Olney is moving in the right direction with hope and optimism for the future. We are a blessed community with jobs, exemplary schools, wonderful doctors, state of the art clinic and hospital and numerous citizens who generously give of their time, energy and resources for the advancement of the community. Olney is a shining star, and the best is yet to come!

Keep Olney Beautiful has served the Olney community since 2011. The committee was originally a subcommittee of the Jr. Altruistic Club, and was known as ROC (Revitalize Olney Committee). After two years of operating as a subcommittee, the group looked to expand beyond the Jr. Altruistic Club and engage different business owners and Olney citizens to serve. The group changed its name to Keep Olney Beautiful and was officially granted its 501 (c) (3) nonprofit, tax-exempt status in 2013. Over the years, the group has worked tirelessly on different projects around town. The new Olney pillars on the east and west ends of town, the downtown lights and the Olney banners which line Main Street are a few of the major accomplishments over the years. The ongoing project the committee has undertaken is the complete renovation of Tom Griffin Park. In May 2018, Keep Olney Beautiful was awarded the Rural Communities Grant from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. This grant will reimburse $75,000 of a planned $170,000 investment by the committee to renovate Tom Griffin Park. With the assistance from Texas Parks and Wildlife, Keep Olney Beautiful will be tearing out all of the old equipment, installing a new playground structure, swing sets, benches, grills and shades throughout the park area. The committee’s vision is to create a fun, family-friendly place for all Olney citizens to enjoy.

Keep Olney Beautiful is only one of many groups which serve the community. We all want Olney to be the best small town in America. If you have any questions or ideas for the committee, please let us know. The 2019 Board consists of Holly Bailey, Kaci Creel, Jenny Curtis, Hannah Stewart, Madison Wellman, Jeromy Johnson, Will Sadler, Jennifer Lane, Tami Harvey and Rue Rogers.

The Olney Enterprise

213 E. Main St.
PO Box 577

Olney, Texas 76374

Phone: (940) 564-5558

Fax: (940) 564-3992