The filing period in the primary election for several county, state and federal offices has ended, and three Young County races are contested. The primary election is planned on March 4, 2014.

On the county level, Republicans Debra Taylor (incumbent) and Kay Harding will face off for the county clerk position. Republicans Robert D. Dial, Jayme Rogers and Ronnie Chestnut will compete for the Republican Justice of the Peace Pct. 1 position, and the website of the Texas Secretary of State notes that Democrat Jesse D. Martin is running unopposed for that party’s nomination, though it could not be confirmed by the Young County Clerk’s office

Unopposed races on the county ballot will include:

Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 – Republican Stan Mahler (incumbent). 

County Judge – Republican John Charles Bullock (incumbent).

District Clerk – Republicans Jamie Land.